THE DOYONS OF AMERICA ASSOCIATION

New Website – Some functionalities have not yet been implemented.

In France, the original village of Doyon is Saint-Hilaire-du-Rosier (south-eastern region of France, near the Vercors mountains). Jean Doyon, the first ancestor of the Doyons of America, is originally from this region.

All of the Doyons of America descend from Jean Doyon, son of Jacques Doyon and Françoise Couturier (or Cousturier). Jean was born in 1619 in Périgny, France, in the former region of Poitou-Charentes, which included the former province of Aunis.  La Rochelle is the historical capital of Aunis.

Jean arrived in Canada in 1644, where he was a land clearing and lumbering man. In 1650, he settled in Château-Richer, became a farmer and married Marthe Gagnon, natural daughter of Mathurin Gagnon and Vincente Gauthier.

From their union were born two girls and four boys: in order, Marie, Nicolas, Antoine, Madeleine, Louis and Thomas. Louis having drowned at the age of 19, the three surviving boys formed the first three lineages of the Doyons of America.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER FOR FREE

We will keep you informed.

    Latest News

    The 2020 Doyons Annual Gathering has been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

    The next annual gathering is scheduled for Sunday, October 3, 2021 at La cache du Golf de Beauceville. Details to come.

L'ASSOCIATION DES DOYON D'AMÉRIQUE

Nouveau site Internet – Certaines fonctionnalités n’ont pas encore été implantées.

En France, le village souche des Doyon est Saint-Hilaire-du-Rosier (région sud-est de la France, près des montagnes du Vercors). Le père Jean Doyon, premier ancêtre des Doyon d’Amérique, est originaire de cette région.

Tous les Doyon d’Amérique descendent de Jean Doyon, fils de Jacques Doyon et de Françoise Couturier (ou Cousturier). Jean est né en 1619 à Périgny en France, dans l’ancienne région du Poitou-Charentes, laquelle incluait l’Aunis, une ancienne province.  La Rochelle, quant à elle, est la capitale historique de l’Aunis.

Jean arrive au Canada en 1644, où il est défricheur et scieur de bois. En 1650, il s’installe à Château-Richer, devient agriculteur et épouse Marthe Gagnon, fille naturelle de Mathurin Gagnon et de Vincente Gauthier.

De leur union naissent deux filles et quatre garçons : dans l’ordre, Marie, Nicolas, Antoine, Madeleine, Louis et Thomas. Louis s’étant noyé accidentellement à l’âge de 19 ans, ce sont les trois garçons survivants qui ont formé les trois premières lignées des Doyon d’Amérique.

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS GRATUITEMENT À NOTRE INFOLETTRE

Nous vous tiendrons au parfum.

    Dernières nouvelles

    Le rassemblement annuel de Doyon 2020 a été annulé en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.

    Le prochain rassemblement annuel est prévu pour le dimanche 3 octobre 2021 à La cache du Golf de Beauceville. Détails à venir.